Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Wise | Lieberman Divorce & Family Law Attorneys Wise | Lieberman Divorce & Family Law Attorneys
  • Call Now for a Confidential Consultation!

Florida Board Certified Family & Divorce Lawyers

Board Certified Specialist in Marital and Family Law.  Evaluated for Professionalism, Tested for Expertise.

How does the certification program help a client or potential client?

Board certified lawyers’ experience and competency have been rigorously evaluated, and Florida lawyers are allowed to refer to themselves as board certified specialists or to use the letters B.C.S. to indicate Board Certified Specialist when referring to their legal credentials.

Board certified lawyers have met The Florida Bar’s highest standards for special knowledge, skills and proficiency in various areas of law and professionalism and ethics in the practice of law.

Certification is the highest level of evaluation by The Florida Bar of the competency and experience of attorneys in the areas of law approved for certification.  The Florida Bar evaluates all board certified specialist lawyers for experience and expertise in a particular area of law and professionalism and ethics in the practice of law.

How many family lawyers are certified in Florida?

As of June, 1, 2020, only 276 attorneys are board certified in the area of marital and family law.

What does it mean to be certified?

Board certified lawyers have a minimum of five years in law practice.

Certified lawyers must show substantial involvement in their field of law.

They must receive a passing grade on the examination required of all applicants or meet strict criteria to exempt the exam before officially earning board certification; each specialty has a different exam.

Certified lawyers must satisfy a peer review assessment of their competence in the specialty field plus character, ethics and professionalism in the practice of law.

Certified lawyers must satisfy the certification area’s continuing legal education requirements.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation